Ubuntu 7.10/OS Reinstallation

From DellLinuxWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

On factory-installed systems, the Ubuntu 7.10 operating system can be re-installed via 2 different methods:

  • From hard drive (recommended): By using the GRUB menu at boot time.
  • From DVD disc: By using the DVD iso provided on your system's Desktop.

CAUTION: BACKUP ALL PERSONAL DATA BEFORE YOU PERFORM THESE OPERATIONS, AS ALL PERSONAL DATA ON THE HARD DRIVE WILL BE PERMANENTLY ERASED.

Reinstalling from hard drive

This OS re-install option can be used to restore the system to its original factory settings:

1. Reboot your system. When you see the Dell logo, please ESC to invoke the GRUB menu.
2. Select "Reinstall Operating System".
3. Select "Recovery Mode -- Automatically reinstall and erase hard drive".

You will see the following on the screen:

  WARNING!   WARNING!   WARNING!
This operation will restore your system to the original factory configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be lost. That information will not be recoverable.
ALL DATA ON YOUR HARD DRIVES WILL BE PERMANENTLY AND IRRETRIEVABLY DESTROYED IF YOU CONTINUE.
To proceed with the reinstallation, please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT Type any other text to abort:

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT). Next, you'll see:

  Continuing Installation. Hard Drive erasure begins in 10 seconds. Power off system
  to abort (last chance)..."

When the OS installation begins, the user will see the following text:

  Installation in progress. The installation will take at least 15 minutes. It may
  take more time depending on the size of the hard drive. It usually takes approximately
  5 minutes per 100GB of hard disk storage, plus 10 minutes.
If your system loses power during install, install normally will restart from the beginning.

When finished, the system runs firstboot to allow the user to select system language & location, time zone, keyboard layout and administration user.

Reinstalling from DVD disc

A custom Ubuntu 7.10 re-install DVD iso has been placed on your Desktop window, which contains all Dell customizations and added drivers included in the factory image for your specific system.

This re-installation method should only be used if for some reason you can't re-install from your hard drive. This option will destroy the install partition on your hard drive, so you will no longer be able to perform OS re-installations from the hard drive. On the other hand, destroying the install partition on your hard drive will free about 5 GB of disk space (taken up by the Ubuntu 7.10 DVD image on the install partition).

Instructions:

1. Burn the DVD iso to a DVD disc.
2. Reboot the system and press F12 when you see the Dell logo as the system boots. Select to boot from the CD/DVD drive.
3. You will get an isolinux boot prompt, press Enter.
4. You will see the following on the screen:

  WARNING!   WARNING!   WARNING!
This operation will restore your system to the original factory configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be lost. That information will not be recoverable.
ALL DATA ON YOUR HARD DRIVES WILL BE PERMANENTLY AND IRRETRIEVABLY DESTROYED IF YOU CONTINUE.
To proceed with the reinstallation, please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT Type any other text to abort:

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT). Next, you'll see:

  Continuing Installation. Hard Drive erasure begins in 10 seconds. Power off system
  to abort (last chance)..."

5. The boot process will continue. The installer will detect a re-installation partition on the hard drive, which it must be removed before proceeding. You'll see:

  There is a existing Reinstallation Partition on the hard drive.
  This partition conflicts with the DVD re-install. In order to continue with the
  DVD Reinstall, we must erase the hard drive and reboot.
Please note: In most cases, reinstallation from the hard drive is faster than the DVD reinstall. We normally recommend that you simply reboot into the hard drive reinstall. Press '<esc>' at the boot prompt and choose the reinstallation option.
To erase the hard drive and proceed with the reinstallation, please type: ERASE HARD DRIVE Type any other text to abort:

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. ERASE HARD DRIVE). Next, you'll see:

  Hard Drive erasure begins in 10 seconds. Power off system to abort (last chance)...

6. Once the disk partition tables and data are erased, the system will boot. You will again get to an isolinux boot prompt. Press Enter.

7. Repeat step 4 above. This time, the OS installation will proceed and the new OS installation will begin.

Personal tools
Distributions