Ubuntu 7.04/OS Reinstallation

From DellLinuxWiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 11: Line 11:
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)
-
The re-install process re-images the disk '''(and deletes any existing user data!)''', and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.
+
The re-installation process re-images the disk '''(and deletes any existing user data!)''', and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Revision as of 19:58, 26 May 2007

  • The OS can be re-installed any time on Ubuntu 7.04 factory-installed systems.
  • The re-installation process is invoked from the GRUB menu at boot time.
  • The verbiage seen before confirming the re-installation is:
   Warning:Warning:Warning
   This program will restore your system to the original Factory
   configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
   lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
   please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)

The re-installation process re-images the disk (and deletes any existing user data!), and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Personal tools
Distributions