Ubuntu 7.04/OS Reinstallation

From DellLinuxWiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 1: Line 1:
* The OS can be re-installed any time on Ubuntu 7.04 factory-installed systems.
* The OS can be re-installed any time on Ubuntu 7.04 factory-installed systems.
-
* The re-installation process is invoked from the GRUB menu at boot time.
+
* The re-installation process is invoked from the GRUB menu at boot time. Just select "Reinstall Operating System".
-
* The verbiage seen before confirming the re-installation is:
+
* The message to confirm the re-installation is:
-
    Warning:Warning:Warning
+
  WARNING!  WARNING!  WARNING!<br>
-
    This program will restore your system to the original Factory
+
  This operation will restore your system to the original factory
-
    configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
+
  configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be lost.
-
    lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
+
  That information will not be recoverable.<br>
-
    please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT
+
  ALL DATA ON YOUR HARD DRIVES WILL BE PERMANENTLY AND IRRETRIEVABLY DESTROYED IF
 +
  YOU CONTINUE.<br>
 +
  To proceed with the reinstallation, please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT
 +
  Type any other text to abort:
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)
The re-installation process re-images the disk '''(and deletes any existing user data!)''', and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.
The re-installation process re-images the disk '''(and deletes any existing user data!)''', and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Revision as of 16:09, 6 July 2007

  • The OS can be re-installed any time on Ubuntu 7.04 factory-installed systems.
  • The re-installation process is invoked from the GRUB menu at boot time. Just select "Reinstall Operating System".
  • The message to confirm the re-installation is:
  WARNING!   WARNING!   WARNING!
This operation will restore your system to the original factory configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be lost. That information will not be recoverable.
ALL DATA ON YOUR HARD DRIVES WILL BE PERMANENTLY AND IRRETRIEVABLY DESTROYED IF YOU CONTINUE.
To proceed with the reinstallation, please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT Type any other text to abort:

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)

The re-installation process re-images the disk (and deletes any existing user data!), and prompts the user to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Personal tools
Distributions