Ubuntu 7.04/OS Reinstallation

From DellLinuxWiki

(Difference between revisions)
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 3: Line 3:
* The verbiage the customer sees before confirming the re-installation is:
* The verbiage the customer sees before confirming the re-installation is:
-
  " Warning:Warning:Warning
+
    Warning:Warning:Warning
     This program will restore your system to the original Factory
     This program will restore your system to the original Factory
     configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
     configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
     lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
     lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
-
     please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT"
+
     please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)
The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)

Revision as of 19:36, 16 May 2007

  • The OS can be re-installed at any time.
  • The re-installation process is invoked from GRUB menu at boot time.
  • The verbiage the customer sees before confirming the re-installation is:
   Warning:Warning:Warning
   This program will restore your system to the original Factory
   configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
   lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
   please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)

The re-install process re-images the disk (and deletes any existing user data!), runs firstboot at the end to allow customer to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Personal tools
Distributions