Ubuntu 7.04/OS Reinstallation

From DellLinuxWiki

< Ubuntu 7.04
Revision as of 20:13, 23 May 2007 by Jose (Talk | contribs)
Jump to: navigation, search
  • The OS can be re-installed any time on any Dell factory-installed system.
  • The re-installation process is invoked from GRUB menu at boot time.
  • The verbiage seen before confirming the re-installation is:
   Warning:Warning:Warning
   This program will restore your system to the original Factory
   configuration. All personal files and changes on this system will be
   lost. That information will not be recoverable. If you wish to proceed,
   please type: RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT

The user is expected to type exactly the string above (i.e. RESTORE TO FACTORY DEFAULT)

The re-install process re-images the disk (and deletes any existing user data!), runs firstboot at the end to allow customer to select system language, keyboard language, time zone and administration user.

Personal tools
Distributions